book title

The Goonies meets James Patterson's Treasure Hunters in this funny, action-filled adventure series for middle-grade readers!

characters

ADDISON COOKE
Amateur archeologist, at your service.

References: Aunt Delia and Uncle Nigel—world-famous researchers and trusted legal guardians

Known Associates: Molly Cooke—younger sister, wise beyond her ten years; Raj Bhandari—most highly-decorated Boy Scout in P.S. 141; Eddie Chang—relatively accurate Spanish translator; Guadalupe—noted navigator, with a questionable sense of direction.

Current Location: Machu Picchu, Peru

Assignment: Decipher ancient clues to find the hidden keys needed to unlock the long-lost Incan treasure, all while outsmarting the shadowy looters who have kidnapped Aunt Delia and Uncle Nigel.

General Interests: Arnold Palmers (on the rocks), expertly-knotted Windsor ties, finding ways out of 'sticky wickets', dodging booby traps, Russian assassins, and crazy brides at fancy weddings

Rates: negotiable

Addison Cooke and the Treasure of the Incas

Three Incan keys—three ancient clues—are all that stand between Addison Cooke and a vast hoard of long-lost treasure.

Twelve-year-old Addison Cooke just wishes something exciting would happen to him. His aunt and uncle, both world-famous researchers, travel to the ends of the earth searching for hidden treasure, dodging dangerous robbers along the way, while Addison is stuck in school all day. Luckily for Addison, adventure has a way of finding the Cookes. After his uncle unearths the first ancient Incan clue needed to find a vast trove of lost treasure, he is kidnapped by members of a shadowy organization intent on stealing the riches. Addison's uncle is the bandits' key to deciphering the ancient clues and looting the treasure...unless Addison and his friends can outsmart the kidnappers and crack the code first. So it's off to South America, where the excitement, danger, gold, booby traps, and car chases are never-ending! Full of laugh-out-loud moments and nonstop action, and perfect for fans of Indiana Jones or James Patterson's Treasure Hunters series, Addison Cooke and the Treasure of the Incas is sure to strike gold.

Start reading now!

Praise for Addison Cooke and the Treasure of the Incas

"Combines the derring-do of Indiana Jones with a genuine archaeological mystery. Stokes brings a cinematic scope to the story. This lively debut promises more seat-of-the-pants thrills for readers who love adventure."
Booklist

"Cinematic pacing and action drive the story, but it's Addison and his friends who will keep readers engaged. Humor is never in short supply . . . and Addison's endless optimism and irrepressible confidence in his own abilities are endearing."
School Library Journal

"Addison is often one step ahead of the adults, but his lead is constantly threatened, building steady tension throughout the novel, screenwriter Stokes's debut."
Publishers Weekly

"What to give the kid who's read all the Harry Potter and Percy Jackson books? Try Addison Cooke...this fast-paced adventure will enthrall middle-grade readers and leave them wanting more."
Parents

Addison Cooke and the Tomb of Khan

"Addison Cooke is Indiana Jones and James Bond rolled into one for the middle-grades set."
Booklist

Addison Cooke's second laugh-out-loud adventure—a journey through Asia in pursuit of the legendary tomb of Genghis Khan!

Fresh off of a victorious treasure hunt and rescue mission in South America, Addison Cooke just can't seem to steer clear of rogue bandits, pesky booby traps, and secret treasure troves. But it sure beats sitting around in school all day.

Addison's aunt and uncle, on the other hand, are none too happy about their habit of attracting kidnappers. When they become pawns in a dangerous gang's plan to steal the most prized possession of the notorious Mongolian leader Genghis Khan, Addison and his friends find themselves once again caught in the middle of a multi-million-dollar international heist. Armed with nothing but their wits and thirst for adventure, they travel across Asia in an attempt to rescue Addison's family and stop the treasure from falling into the wrong hands.

Brimming with round-the-clock action and tons of laughter, Addison Cooke and the Tomb of the Khan is perfect for fans of Indiana Jones, ancient history, and James Patterson's Treasure Hunters series.

Praise for Addison Cooke and the Tomb of the Khan

"Humorous and thrilling...a clever and well-done fast-paced adventure for intrepid readers."
Huffpost

author

Jonathan W. Stokes is a former teacher who is now a rising star as a Hollywood screenwriter. He has written screenplays on assignment for Warner Brothers, Universal, Fox, Paramount, New Line, and Sony/Columbia. Inspired by a childhood love of The Goonies and Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Jonathan set out to write his first novel, Addison Cooke and the Treasure of the Incas. Born in Manhattan, he currently resides in Los Angeles, where he can be found showing off his incredible taste in dishware and impressive 96% accuracy with high fives.

Follow @jonathanwstokes